Faculty Expertise

Faculty Member Areas of Specialty Contact
Mimi Abramovitz
Professor of Social Policy at the Silberman School of Social Work at Hunter College; Faculty of the CUNY Graduate Center and Consortial Faculty, Murphy Institute
  • women
  • poverty
  • human rights
  • the U.S/ Welfare State
iabramov@hunter.cuny.edu
Stanley Aronowitz
Distinguished Professor of Sociology, CUNY and Consortial Faculty, Murphy Institute
  • labor
  • social movements
  • science and technology
  • education
  • social theory
  • cultural studies
saronowitz@gc.cuny.edu
Kafui Attoh
Assistant Professor of Urban Studies, Murphy Institute
  • political economy of cities
  • the politics of public space
  • urban transit’s role within the political economy of cities
  • the struggles and livelihoods of the transportation disadvantaged
  • the role of urban social movements (including the labor movement) in shaping mass transit policy
Kafui.Attoh@cuny.edu
Juan Battle
Professor of Sociology, Public Health, and Urban Education at the CUNY Graduate School, and Consortial Faculty, Murphy Institute
  • race
  • sexuality
  • social justice
jbattle@gc.cuny.edu
Stephen Brier
Professor, PhD Program in Urban Education and Coordinator, Interactive Technology and Pedagogy Certificate Program, CUNY Graduate Center, and Consortial Faculty, Murphy Institute
  • history of public education
  • issues related to race, class, and ethnicity in U.S. history
  • the uses of digital technologies and tools to improve academic teaching, learning, and research
sbrier@gc.cuny.edu
Michael Javen Fortner
Assistant Professor and Academic Director of Urban Studies, Murphy Institute
  • American political development and political philosophy — particularly in the areas of race, ethnicity, and class
Michael.Fortner@cuny.edu
Joshua Freeman
Professor of History, Queens College and the CUNY Graduate Center, and Consortial Faculty, Murphy Institute
  • the history of labor, modern America, and New York City
jfreeman@gc.cuny.edu
Penny Lewis
Academic Director and Associate Professor of Labor Studies, Murphy Institute
  • social class dynamics of social movements
Penny.Lewis@cuny.edu
Stephanie Luce
Professor of Labor Studies, Murphy Institute
  • living wage campaigns and movements
  • globalization and labor standards
  • labor-community coalitions
  • regional labor markets
Stephanie.Luce@cuny.edu
Ruth Milkman
Distinguished Professor of Sociology at the CUNY Graduate Center and Distinguished Professor of Labor Studies and Director of Research, Murphy Institute
  • work and labor organization in the United States
  • California’s paid family leave program
  • wage theft and other violations of employment law
  • immigration and labor
  • the aging workforce
  • NYC’s paid sick leave law
rmilkman@gc.cuny.edu
John Mollenkopf
Distinguished Professor of Political Science at the CUNY Graduate School and Consortial Faculty, Murphy Institute
jmollenkopf@gc.cuny.edu
Ed Ott
Distinguished Lecturer in Labor Studies, Murphy Institute
  • the labor movement
  • pension and social security protection
  • worker safety legislation
  • campaign finance reform
edottnyc@gmail.com
Frances Fox Piven
Distinguished Professor of Political Science and Sociology, CUNY Graduate School, and Distinguished Lecturer in Labor Studies and Consortial Faculty, Murphy Institute
  • social welfare policy
  • voter registration,
  • poverty
  • social movements
FPiven@hotmail.com

A conversation about workers, communities and social justice

css.php
Need help with the Commons? Visit our
help page
Send us a message
Skip to toolbar